Roald Dahl Books

Roald Dahl (1916-1990) has written more than 50 books. A British author born in Wales, he is famous for children's classics such as James and the Giant Peach, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, Matilda and more. Dahl published his first written work in 1942, when he sold a story titled "Shot Down Over Libya" to the Saturday Evening Post. His first children's book was published one year later-The Gremlins.

Short stories

Roald Dahl wrote several short stories throughout his career. According to the Roald Dahl Museum and Story Centre, these include:

  • Over to You (1945)
  • Someone Like You (1953)
  • Kiss Kiss (1960)
  • Switch Bitch (1974)
  • The Wonderful Story of Henry Sugar and Six More (1977)
  • Tales of the Unexpected (1979)
  • More Tales of the Unexpected (1980)
  • Two Fables (1986)
  • Ah, Sweet Mystery of Life (1989)

Children's books

Books such as Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, Matilda, The BFG, and James and the Giant Peach are considered classic children's literature. They have enjoyed multiple printings and have been made into full-length feature films. Roald Dahl wrote 20 books for children. His children's book titles listed by the Roald Dahl Museum and Story Centre are:

  • The Gremlins (1943)
  • James and the Giant Peach (1961)
  • Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (1964)
  • The Magic Finger (1966)
  • Fantastic Mr. Fox (1970)
  • Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator (1972)
  • Danny, the Champion of the World (1975)
  • The Enormous Crocodile (1978)
  • The Twits (1980)
  • George's Marvellous Medicine (1981)
  • Roald Dahl's Revolting Rhymes (1982)
  • The BFG (1982)
  • Dirty Beasts (1983)
  • The Witches (1983)
  • The Giraffe and the Pelly and Me (1985)
  • Matilda (1988)
  • Rhyme Stew (1989)
  • Esio Trot (1990)
  • The Vicar of Nibbleswick (1991)
  • The Minpins (1991)

Dahl's first children's book The Gremlins is no longer in print. The book The BFG has one of Dahl's briefest titles. BFG stands for "big friendly giant." It was made into an animated movie in 1989.

Other works by Roald Dahl

Roald Dahl wrote two books for adults. The first was Sometime Never: A Fable for Supermen in 1948. He didn't write his second adult book until 1979. His second offering was My Uncle Oswald, a comedy featuring the unique Oswald Cornelius. He also wrote two autobiographies and three cookbooks.


The books of Roald Dahl have won numerous awards. The Witches won the Whitbread Award in 1983, Esio Trot won the Smarties Award in 1990, and Matilda won the Blue Peter Prize in 2000, reports Scholastic Books. Dahl also won the Edgar Allen Poe Award for Mystery Writers in America three times-1954, 1959 and 1980. The World Fantasy Convention Award was given to Dahl in 1983 as well.

Fun fact

First Lady Eleanor Roosevelt loved Roald Dahl's book The Gremlins. She read it often to her grandchildren. Mrs. Roosevelt invited Dahl to the White House to have dinner with her and President Franklin D. Roosevelt. Dahl eventually became a regular visitor to the White House as well as a guest of the Roosevelts at their country house.

© 2015 Life123, Inc. All rights reserved. An IAC Company