Facebook is the world's most popular social network, but while there are millions of happy Facebook users, there are some instances when an individual may prefer to delete his or her Facebook account permanently. Concerns about data privacy, conflict with other users or sheer boredom can all drive people to get rid of their Facebook account once and for all. Here's everything you need to know about deleting Facebook permanently.
Temporary deactivation versus permanent deletion
It's easy to make a decision in the heat of the moment, but sometimes it can be better to deactivate your account for a while to give yourself a chance to think. To temporarily deactivate your account, log into the site and go to your Facebook page. Click the down arrow next to Home, and choose Account Settings. On the left-hand side of the screen, click Security. At the bottom of the list, you will then see an option to Deactivate Your Account, which you must then confirm. Once deactivated, your account will be hidden from other Facebook users until you choose to reactivate it.
Prior to deletion
Make sure that you have downloaded and stored any photos or videos from your Facebook profile that you want to keep. Once your account has been deleted, you will not be able to retrieve them. According to your reasons for deleting the account, you may want to message some of your friends to tell them what you are doing and to ensure that you have an alternative means of getting in touch. You should also ask whether you really need or want to delete the account. You could try removing some of your friends or changing your privacy settings if there is a specific person you are trying to avoid.
Deleting Facebook through your Facebook page
If you decide to permanently delete your Facebook page, you will need to go to the account deletion screen. Log in, and then enter the details requested. Once you have confirmed, your account will be marked for deletion and will no longer appear to other users. If you change your mind, however, you can log in at any time for the next fourteen days, and the deletion request will be deactivated.
Deleting Facebook via email
You also have the option to delete your Facebook account by sending an email to the support team. This must be sent from the email account registered with your Facebook account. Email email@example.com and request the deletion of your account. You will normally get a response, but if you do not receive a response within 14 days, check your account by logging in. If you cannot log in, your account has been deleted. If this is not the case, you will need to send a follow-up email. It is important that you refrain from logging in for at least 14 days after the request has been sent. Even if Facebook completes your request, logging in within a 14-day period will reactivate your account.