How to Delete Your Facebook Account

Wondering how to delete your Facebook account? Social networking is a popular pastime for many, but if you've decided it's not for you, it's time to delete that account.

The reasons for wishing to delete your account are many. Some find that social networking takes too much time away from friends and family, others find it interferes with their work and still others find that that having their persona information online for the world to see is more than they bargained for. Whatever your reasons for wanting out of Facebook, here are the steps you need to take to permanently delete your account and your personal information.

Signing Off From Facebook
First, be sure that you really want to delete your account. For those who think they may want to come back to Facebook someday, Facebook allows you to deactivate your account, which stops the alerts while still storing all your personal information, photos, comments, wall posts, etc. If you're thinking you'd just like to take a Facebook break with the possibility of coming back, then this is the option for you. While logged in to your Facebook account, choose Settings at the top of the page, and click on Account Settings. From there, select Deactivate to temporarily turn off your account. If you change your mind, you can simply reactivate your account, and everything will be as you left it.

If you are sure you will not want to come back to Facebook and wish to have all of your information deleted, then you must take additional steps to ensure that all traces of your Facebook activities have been removed. Begin by logging into your profile, and then begin deleting. Delete everything: all your photos, comments, notes, messages and wall posts. Depending on how long and how active you've been on Facebook, this can be a daunting task. Once you are sure you've deleted everything, you can then deactivate your account as above.

You then need to contact Facebook administrators to request that your account and all your information be permanently deleted. Be warned, however, that they will not delete your account unless every bit of information is removed from your profile, so be sure that everything is gone before you contact them.

Keep in mind, too, that this only removes the information that you have stored on Facebook. If other users have downloaded your photos or kept printouts of your posts, there's no way for you to get rid of them.

Related Life123 Articles

What is Facebook and what is the fuss about? Ease of use makes this one of the simplest social networking sites to use.

You can never be too careful with your private information these days. By being smart about what you upload to your Facebook page and whom you allow to see it, you can ensure that your privacy is protected.

Frequently Asked Questions on Ask.com
More Related Life123 Articles

Want to know how to create a Facebook group? First, think of the type of group you want to create, and then consider how many people should be able to join.

How did Facebook originate? It's story begins with a comical Harvard University site that nearly got its creator expelled.

This quick Facebook tutorial will have you using the site like a pro in no time.

© 2014 Life123, Inc. All rights reserved. An IAC Company